Surrogacy in California
Surrogacy in California
A Brief Overview
California has long been known as a great location to pursue surrogacy (for both surrogates and intended parents). Its favorable surrogacy laws have allowed Circle Surrogacy to successfully match surrogates with intended parents since Circle’s inception in 1995.
California’s long history of favorable case law and recently enacted statute make The Golden State an excellent setting for surrogacy, protecting all of the parties involved. It’s also one of the few states where the laws have kept up with the scientific advances in assisted reproduction, making it more affordable and typically less prone to legal conflicts.
California’s favorable statute recognizes contracts for gestational surrogacy arrangements as well as egg, sperm, and embryo donations. The state’s comprehensive law protects the rights of the surrogate, the intended parents,the baby, and the egg donor (if one is needed). Even in cases where the statute is not fully followed, California’s 20-plus years of positive case law tends to fully protect the parties.
Establishing parentage for surrogacy in California is a seamless process for everyone involved. Generally, surrogates in California won’t ever appear in court. Even in cases where a post-birth action is warranted (i.e. intended parents citizenship needs), the surrogate won’t need to appear in court. The parties simply need to review and sign legal documentation and return to the attorneys handling the matter.
Benefits for Surrogates in California
The first payment is the $500 Expedited Screening Bonus. You are eligible to receive $500 if we receive all required paperwork (including previous Prenatal and Delivery records), medical pre-approval AND you and your primary support person complete your Social Work Screening within 3 weeks of submitting your application. In order to receive this bonus, you must match with intended parents in our program. Of note, this amount is deducted from your base fee, but will be deposited shortly after matching, prior to receiving any other surrogacy payments. Then you receive a $500 advance after you complete your medical screening. Please note, these two payments are deducted from your base fee.
- Gain an incredible sense of self-fulfillment from giving the greatest gift humanly possible to another family
- Compensation based on California residence
- Gain an incredible sense of
self-fulfillment from giving the greatest gift humanly possible to another
- Build a life-long relationship with
forever grateful intended parents
- Work with a personal program
coordination team and licensed social worker
- Consult with your legal
representation to guide you through the legal process
How to Become a Surrogate in California
In order to qualify to become a surrogate mother in California, applicants must meet the following requirements:
- Are between the ages of 21-41 years of age.
- Have given birth to a healthy child within the past 10years (If most recent pregnancy was not within the past 7years, the OBGYN and delivery medical records will need to be made available for review).
- Have had healthy births since any miscarriage.
- Do not participate in certain government aid programs including section 8 housing.
- Have a Body Mass Index (BMI) no higher than 32 (some clinics allow up to 33).
- Have the support of family and friends.
- Do not use illegal drugs, smoke cigarettes, or abuse alcohol.
- Generally have medical insurance (though this is not a requirement).
- Women with IUDs or who have had the Depo Provera shot are welcome to apply but must be willing to have their IUDs removed before a transfer, and should understand that they may be placed on hold temporarily.
Medical Care and Compensation
Family and reproductive law is continually developing and changing. As such, there is no guarantee the information on this website is current or correct. Circle’s in-house legal team and referring attorneys provided the information listed, and it is not intended to be a substitute for an attorney’s legal counsel. In any individual case, you should always confer with an attorney who specializes in this area of law and is licensed to practice in the particular state at hand.